AKAA 2019 winners announced

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The winners for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture have been announced! Co-founder and design director of our practice, Hanif Kara, was on the steering committee for this cycle - the 14th cycle. Six projects will share $1million between them!

The Aga Khan Foundation set up the award in 1977 and occurs every three years. Projects are awarded for ‘setting new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation, and landscape architecture.’

Here are the six winning projects from the 2019 cycle.

1. Revitalisation of Muharraq - Bahrain.

'The Project, which highlights the World Heritage site’s pearling history, was first initiated as a series of restoration and reuse projects' - designed by Authority for Culture & Antiquities Conservation Department, Manama, Bahrain.

2. Acardia Education Project – South Kanarchor, Bangladesh.

'The Project in South Kanarchor is a modular structure that takes a novel approach to a riverine site that is often flooded for five months every year.' - designed by Saif Ul Haque Sthapati, Dhaka, Bangladesh.

3. Palestinian Museum – Birzeit, Palestine

'The Project in Birzeit, which crowns a terraced hill overlooking the Mediterranean, is the recipient of the LEED Gold certification because of its sustainable construction.' - designed by Heneganh Peng Architects, Dublin, Ireland.

4. Public Spaces Development Programme – Republic of Tatarstan, Russian Federation.

'A programme in the Republic of Tatarstan that, to date, has improved 328 public spaces all over Tatarstan.'

5. Alioune Diop University Teaching and Research Unit – Bambey, Senegal.

'The Project in Bambey, where a scarcity of resources led to the use of bioclimatic strategies, includes a large double roof canopy and latticework that avoids solar radiation but allows air to flow through it.'

6. Wasit Wetland Centre – Sharjah, UAE.

'Wasit Wetland Centre, in Sharjah, is a design that transformed a wasteland into a wetland and functioned as a catalyst for biodiversity and environmental education.' - designed by X-Architects, Dubai, UAE.

Full details of the projects can be found on the AKAA website.

AKAA website

Hanif has been part of the AKAA for some time now, sitting on the steering committee for the past two cycles.

‘The AKAA award has uniquely provided an excellent compass for all aspects of Design excellence and the built environment as a whole for 42 years. The winners all reinforce the value of architecture at all scales in many geographies. What they have as a common goal, at their core, is to improve quality of life. I am so fortunate to have been involved in many capacities for this award, including sitting on the steering committee of this award's 14th cycle.’ – Hanif Kara.

Congratulations to all the winners!